Skip to content

Winsnes Lodge Norway Salmon Fishing Gaula River

Customer Rating 83%
Tour Code NOR001  

One Of The Finest Salmon Fishing Rivers

Winsnes Fly Fishing Lodge is an Atlantic Salmon Fishing Lodge on one of the world’s finest Salmon rivers, the Gaula river in Norway. Built-in the 19th century, known in those days as ‘Storstuu Winsnes’, the term ‘Storstuu’, meaning ‘Big House’, has attracted travelling freshwater fly fishing anglers since 1882. Back then, anglers from the UK, known as Salmon Lords, rented the lodge every summer, seeking the largest, hardest-fighting Salmon in the world.

Today the lodge is managed by the descendants of the same family that built it in the 19th century. Anne Marit is the 17th generation of her family to live and own fishing rights in the valley since records began, while Matt Hayes is a well-known angler, photographer and broadcaster. The lodge is a traditional Norwegian farmhouse with several outbuildings and an ancient barn converted into a pub and a fishing tackle outfitter.

Fishing is an integral part of life at Winsnes, a heritage that is looked after and protected. It’s the ideal destination for any Salmon angler wishing to experience a well run Salmon river. The Gaula River regularly appears in the top five rivers in Norway for its regular catch statistics, and Winsnes Lodge is a substantial contributor to these statistics. Ideal for groups and single anglers alike, due to the lodge catering for up to eight rods a week with some single rooms available.

The Gaula River

The Gaula is a ‘pure’ Salmon river, unsupported by hatcheries and without a hydro dam. It rises and falls naturally and runs over 100 kilometres, starting in the hills above the town of Ålen and emptying into the Trondheimsfjord below Melhus. This free-flowing river cuts its way through the breathtaking Norwegian landscape, with fjord and mountain scenery thickly forested slopes interspersed with charming rural smallholdings; it is a stunning location to wet a line.

The Winsnes Lodge controls 4 kilometres of the river and has some mouth-watering fly fishing spots, all suitable for different sets of water conditions and all great holding spots for Atlantic salmon. The fishery is unusual as it is a continuous stretch, rather than a series of broken up pools, divided into nine beats. All the beats are accessible from both banks, and many are within a comfortable walking distance from the lodge.

Renowned for its large run of big, beautiful fish, the river will yield over 45 tonnes of fish to rod and line captures in a good year, and the lodge is regarded as one of the most prolific parts of the river. The average size of the Salmon is around 7 kilos, but there are numbers of fish over 10 kilos, and monstrous specimens of over 20kg get caught every year. Regular visiting fly anglers to the river and inspired by the giant fish it can produce.

World Class Salmon Fishing

The beats and pools of the Atlantic Salmon fishing rivers in Norway have traditionally been fished continuously, with no rest periods from anglers. However, Winsnes lodge on the Gaula is bucking this trend, setting up their fishery to focus on quality fishing and well-rested beats, set aside exclusively for fly fishing.

The beats are limited to eight guest rods per week, with two rods retained by the landowners. During June and July, the Lodge operates a resting system, closing all of the pools for two 4 hour sessions per day. Doing this means that across the nine beats under Winsnes control, only five are fished at any one time, in rotation, with no fishing allowed from 2-6 am and 2-6 pm. This scheme has worked brilliantly, and if catch records are a measure of success, then it can be considered a triumph; last year on the Flaskholen beats where this policy was implemented, it became the most productive stretch on the Gaula. As well as resting the river, it also means the anglers have a chance to rest and relax, too, without feeling like they are missing out on a key beat.

As well as fantastic management, another reason for the Gaula Rivers abundant Salmon populations and sport it can offer anglers is the total catch and release policy implemented throughout, protecting the river and Salmon populations today and for future generations.

The Best Salmon Fishing In Norway

Over one hundred and thirty summers after it all started, the Atlantic Salmon fishing in Norway on the Gaula still creates the summer magic at Winsnes. The Lodge offers some of the best freshwater fly fishing on the river; catches are relatively stable with good numbers and fish with a fantastic average size. During a typical summer, the Lodge will produce between 100 and 200 salmon in a 13 week season. With a rod limit of 8 per week, the average size of the fish caught is somewhere between 5kg and 8kg. Judged on a per rod, per hour fished basis, Winsnes always tops the statistics for the river by some distance. Due, in some part, to the sheer quality of the pools on offer and the fact that Winsnes runs their unique resting system, that helps protect the fish and fishery.

Both traditional double-handed and single-handed rods can be used depending on water height, with single-handed rods coming into their own in low water conditions. The fishing is all wading and floating lines, with interchangeable tips allowing customers to get to the correct depth, are the norm.

Besides Salmon fishing, Winsnes lodge can offer a range of alternative fly-fishing options for trout and grayling on a range of rivers, streams and lakes. Norway has some excellent light-tackle fly-fishing, all of which is complemented by a backdrop of spectacular scenery.

World Class Fishing Guides

When fishing Winsnes, all anglers will receive some light-guiding as part of the holiday package; this means that one of the guides will pay you a daily visit by the river to offer advice and answer any questions you may have. When you arrive at the Lodge, each angler will also receive a river tour, establishing access to the pools, beats, and a few typical areas in which the Salmon might lie.

For an extra cost, you can book a dedicated guide for up to eight hours per day; however, a popular arrangement is for anglers to employ the services of a guide for a day on their first visit to the fishery and then top-up their knowledge throughout the week. All the guides speak good English and are well in tune with the fishing on the river.

Salmon Fishing Norway Peak Season

The Atlantic Salmon fishing season on the River Gaula begins in June and runs through until August. The opening weeks of the season are when many big trophy fish get caught, fish with numerous sea-winters under their belt. However, few and far between fish to over 20kg are caught every year by visiting freshwater fly fishing anglers.

July is often the most productive month for numbers of fish. Usually, the water levels have dropped, and temperatures have started to rise. This month is the most effective time of the season and ideal for anglers of all experience levels, from novice to expert. By August, the Salmon will be distributed throughout all the beats on the Gaula.

Accommodation

The Winsnes Lodge is owned and run by Anne Marit Winsnes and her partner, British TV angler Matt Hayes. The atmosphere at Winsnes is friendly and informal, and guests are encouraged to come and go as they please. Help is always on hand for guests who want assistance with their fishing equipment, advice about the river, fly choices etc.

Winsnes was built in 1882, and up until 1910, the house was occupied by the English’ Salmon Lords’ who travelled to the river to sample the Atlantic Salmon Fishing Norway had to offer; Pictures and other paraphernalia, from this period, is still present throughout the Lodge. The style is simple, rustic and charming and, best of all, totally authentic. 

Built from traditional Norwegian wood, Winsnes has been extended and modernised over recent years, with a large ground floor kitchen, a spacious dining area and lounge. All seven bedrooms are on the first and second floor, with shared or single occupancy possible. Some, but not all, of the rooms are en-suite. There are five bathrooms in total.

Winsnes is famous for the quality of its food with highly developed catering facilities – a mixture of traditional Norwegian and international cuisine. British touches are present on the menu, with British tea and Marmite at breakfast being prime examples. 

Guests are well looked after, and packages are full-board, comprising breakfast and dinner with the opportunity to make your packed lunch from the ample spread put out at the breakfast table. Non-fishing guests and families will be able to choose from a list of activities and are very welcome at the Lodge too.

Also, new at the Winsnes site is the Lax Café and Pub, a fly fishing shop for those who may need extra flies and fly lines and a drying room for anglers needing to dry their kit and waders out after a day on the river. 

Built using the structure of a barn that was part of the original Winsnes Farm from several hundred years ago, the barn was constructed in the 18th century and refurbished in 2010. The Lax Cafe retains the original architecture of the traditional building; much of the furniture is original to the Winsnes farm, and members of the family made almost of it. 

A meeting place for both local people and tourists, the Lax Cafe and Pub is open from Friday to Sunday. It is available for guests and special events at any time. Visitors enjoy the well-stocked bar, which includes a full range of alcohol and soft drinks, and food is available on site. There are also several fishing huts available by the river for a late-night drink, which is encouraged as part of the experience. 

To find out more about Winsnes Fly Fishing Lodge and the Atlantic Salmon fishing on offer in Norway, visit our YouTube channel.

Book with confidence

We have worked hard to be able to provide you with the best prices possible. If you are quoted a lower price we will endeavour to beat it.
>
We take the stress out of the holiday planning process. All of our holidays include flights, transfer and accommodation making booking a holiday simple.
All our destinations our meticulously researched by our expert team, who take pride in planning and tailoring your holiday to your exact needs.
We are ATOL protected. This means you have the financial security on your holiday when booking through Sportquest Holidays.
When your trip benefits others, you gain too. All our trips support communities and preserve nature - which helps you get closer to both. So when you travel with us, everyone wins.
Covid-19 Promise
We recognise that flexibility is important when booking a holiday. Our Covid-19 promise provides an unprecedented level of flexibility.

Itinerary

TAILOR-MADE HOLIDAYS

Although the fishing days are fixed, the below itinerary is still flexible should you require additional free days to explore at the beginning or end of your holiday; we can tailor this itinerary to suit you personally. Feel free to talk to our travel consultants who can explain all options available.

DAY 1: (Sunday)

Depart UK (alternative routes available)

Arrive Trondheim

At Trondheim Airport you will pick up your pre-arranged hire car. Please note that is not included in the price but we can book this for you. On arrival at Winsnes Farm, our hosts will check you in, give you a tour of the facilities, talk about the rotation and all the fishing areas on the Gaula River.

Overnight accommodation: Winsnes Farm (Twin Room) F/B

DAYS 2 to 4: Fishing Days (Monday to Wednesday)

Over the next 6 days, breakfast is served and you can either return to the lodge for lunch or alternatively make yourself a packed lunch at breakfast to take out to the water and eat while you enjoy a days fishing. Fishing Tip: even though we rest the Salmon fishing pools every 6 hours, its best to give each pool a rest once you have fished through, as resting fish will respond better to your flies.

Overnight accommodation: Winsnes Farm (Twin Room) F/B

DAYS 5 to 7: Fishing Days (Thursday to Saturday)

Salmon fishing each day is based on 2 rods per beat and you will rotate beats every 4 hours. Fishing is based on light guiding, so each day our guides will come to visit you throughout the day and give you advice on all the pools and runs. There is a mandatory rest period on the Gaula River for all pools between the hours of 2 AM to 6 AM and 2 PM to 6 PM.

Overnight accommodation: Winsnes Farm (Twin Room) F/B

DAY 8: (Sunday)

In the morning drive yourself back to Trondheim Airport and drop off the car.

Depart Trondheim

Arrive UK

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Satisfaction Score 83%

View all reviews

FISHING Seasons

The season runs from June to August.

Atlantic Salmon

Season: 1st June to 29th August
Peak: July
Weight: 8lb to 47lb
Average Weight: 14lb

Package Details

Prices from
£1,858
per person

Included

  • International flights
  • Road maps
  • 7 nights accommodation
  • Full board
  • 4km of fishing based on 8 rods
  • Light guiding
  • All required fishing permits
  • Disinfection certificate

Excluded

  • Personal holiday insurance
  • Car hire
  • Petrol
  • Tips for the guide

Optional extras

  • Other UK departure airports are possible (additional cost). Please call a member of the Sportquest team for further information
  • Additional luggage can be added, please enquire about up to date prices
  • Car Hire approx £450
  • Flight upgrades

Price Supplements

If you are looking at travelling alone please contact us on 01603 407596 and we can give you an updated price

View Latest Availability

Dates, Prices & Availability

Remember that Sportquest Holidays' services are completely FREE! When you book a trip with Sportquest Holidays, you never pay more than when you book directly with the lodge and flights independently.

Departing Returning Days Price Availability
07/08/2022 14/08/2022 8 £3,236 Enquire Now
14/08/2022 21/08/2022 8 £3,236 Sold Out
21/08/2022 28/08/2022 8 £3,236 Enquire Now
28/08/2022 04/09/2022 8 £3,236 Enquire Now
29/05/2023 04/06/2023 8 £1,906 Enquire Now
04/06/2023 11/06/2023 8 £2,238 Enquire Now
11/06/2023 18/06/2023 8 £3,189 Enquire Now
18/06/2023 25/06/2023 8 £3,402 Enquire Now
25/06/2023 02/07/2023 8 £3,711 Enquire Now
02/07/2023 09/07/2023 8 £3,711 Enquire Now
09/07/2023 16/07/2023 8 £3,711 Enquire Now
16/07/2023 23/07/2023 8 £3,474 Enquire Now
23/07/2023 30/07/2023 8 £3,094 Enquire Now
30/07/2023 06/08/2023 8 £3,284 Enquire Now
06/08/2023 13/08/2023 8 £3,284 Enquire Now
13/08/2023 20/08/2023 8 £3,284 Enquire Now
20/08/2023 27/08/2023 8 £3,284 Enquire Now
27/08/2022 05/09/2022 8 £3,284 Enquire Now

Price Notes

Prices are based on two adults sharing fishing and accommodation (unless otherwise stated) and are correct at the time of going to press. Subject to time of year or date and currency fluctuations, these prices may fluctuate slightly due to flight price increases or fuel surcharges.

Make an Enquiry

To speak to an expert or receive more information about when is the best time to travel? What can you expect from your holiday? Who are the tour guides? Will someone be there to meet me? Plus, many more questions. Either call our offices, e-mail us or fill in the form, and we will get back to you asap.
+44 (0)1603 407596
sales@sportquestholidays.com
16 Alston Road
Hellesdon Park
Norwich
Norfolk
NR6 5DS

Reviews

Dr Cole

I must admit the fishing was more challenging than I had expected, however some of that is down to my experience. Fishing these Norwegian Rivers is quite different from Scotland. However, I must say with all the help and support from your staff they soon had my lines, leader, flies and my presentation sorted. Result a cracking 19lb fresh Atlantic Salmon. I was so so happy.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Dr Cole, thanks for taking the time to talk to me on the telephone and to complete our online feedback form. Yes it is different to fishing in Scotland, just need to be more careful with the presentation and make sure you have a good tight line, so you get a proper swing through on each cast. Congratulations on the 19lb fish. I look forward to the pictures.

Regards Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

John

2nd week of the season and understandable due to river conditions at the Gaula Foss fish above were few and far between, we did manage to catch some fish with my biggest being a 22lb fresh chrome Atlantic Salmon. Accommodation, food and hospitality was great. Will have to return no doubt about it.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

John, sorry to hear that the water levels were low at the start of the season, as you well know Salmon fishing anywhere in the world is effected by water levels. Mind you glad to got into a nice 20lb plus Atlantic Salmon from the famous Guala. One to remember for a long while. Thanks for your kind comments about all our operation, accommodation, guides and food etc. Look forward in dealing with you again soon and we will get you on a peak week next season. Regards Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Steven

1st time over fishing in Norway on the Winsnes beat on the river Gaula.
Absolute 1st class service from both Sport Quest & the Hayes/Winsnes family.
The lodge was so relaxing you were under no pressure to go out & fish, you could come & go at your leisure.
I would recommend this package to anyone thinking about a trip away.
We are booked again for next year, that’s how good a trip it was.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Steven thanks for the kind review and great scores, we will make sure that all your great comments are passed on to the suppliers and guides. See you next year....

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

William

Sportquest made booking simple. Great service. Winsness Lodge excellent, Great Food, Friendly people. On the doorstep to fishing. Fishing good in dificult conditions. Guide George Howard very good. Overall package very good.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

William, Thank you for you kind review and Im very pleased you had a good trip. I will pass on your glowing report of George, who will be thrilled that you enjoyed his company and guidance during your time at Winsnes farm lodge.

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Mr Grapes

Just a quick thank you to you, all your staff in the office plus the amazing staff and guides at the lodge for such a great time, I even managed to nail my first Norway Atlantic Salmon on the fly….

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Congratulations on such a nice fish, we are so happy to know that you had a great time and I will sort out the dates for you for the return trip. Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

John

Fantastic Salmon fishing, highly recommend it.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

John, thanks for the online feedback form. It was great to catch up with you again on the phone. Glad you had another great trip. Look forward in seeing you again in Norway and Cuba.

Regards Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Matt

Big powerful river with powerful Salmon. Great holiday - Gillie's and the lodge was right on the mark and a big thank you to Jacob and his family for making us feel like home.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Matt, we are very happy that you all enjoyed your stay. We will surly pass on all your great feedback to all the lodge staff. Hope to see you again soon

Regards Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Paul

Thank you to all the staff and the gillie's for taking good care of us. The 8 hours a day Grilling is definitely worth the extra as the fishing is so different to Scottish and Irish rivers.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Paul, Grilling??? I know what you mean the extra guiding as you paid extra to have a full time gillie. Glad you thoroughly enjoyed the trip.

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Neil

We had a great holiday in Norway fishing the river Gaula we knew it was going to be tough fishing so early in the season but decided to give it a go the fishing was great with a few fish lost and Derrick catching a nice salmon on our last day of fishing we also had great guides and all the staff were very friendly and made us feel right at home we also meet Matt and his family who were also great and made us feel really welcome were already looking forward to going back next year

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Neil thanks for taking the time to write a review and send me through some cracking pictures. It was a pleasure in managing you guys and I am glad that you enjoyed my recommendation. We also hope to see you guys again next year as it was a pleasure.

Kind Regards Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Mark

Great place, accommodation and food. Unfortunately during my week Norway was experiencing unseasonal hot weather with the water temperature at 18 which is far to warm for Salmon to bite.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Mark

Thanks for completing the feedback form as I know you are a very busy man. I am glad you liked the place and even though the fish would not bite due to the weather that you still had a good week. I was pleased that at least you got to watch all the salmon jumping in the river as at least this goes to show you what things should be like if the weather was normal.

I look forward in assisting you again soon.

Tight lines Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Max

The Salmon were very tricky this week. But that is salmon fishing and on reflection I am pretty pleased with my week. I learned a hell of a lot and my casting has definitely improved. And if you'd said I'd have four good hook ups at the start of the week, I'd have taken that. Shame I only managed to land 2 of them, a 9lb fish and a sea trout of about 1 lb.

But what the salmon didn't provide, the staff provided in abundance. Good food (I am going to miss that ham & cheese/prawn sandwich combo this week!!), great fishing chats, great company and great beers. The bonus of having a pub on site.

The river itself is beautiful, although make sure you have the correct gear. A shooting head set up is probably better than the Spey line I was using as quite a lot of water to cover with some pools having little room for a good D-loop (well, with my very average casting anyway!). That said, if you haven't got all the right gear there is a well stocked shop on site too.

The guiding service is light although I think there is more guiding in the early part of the season.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Max

Shame that the week was a tough one as there have been some cracking weeks. However the most important thing is that you still enjoyed the trip and learnt lots about Salmon fishing abroad.

Thanks for taking the time to complete the feedback and also for using Sportquest. We look forward in assisting you again soon.

Tight Lines Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Tim

Unfortunately the trip was disappointing due to very low river levels. Water had been low all season but the fishing had been good, but on our week it was even lower. There were plenty of resident fish showing but no chance of inducing one to take the fly.

I managed to catch one small grilse in a weeks intensive fishing.

A couple of others in the lodge had complete blanks.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Tim

Thanks for calling me back, so so sorry that you had a tough week and that is typical because right up until that week we had been having one of our best starts to the season even though there is low water. The shear number of fish in the system this year has been amazing as we are seeing more fish each year.

Unfortunately if the water level continues to drop like your week and the days are long and hot, the Salmon are hard to tempt to bite. As you already know not long after your week there was some rain in the mountains and once this settles the river and fishing returned back to normal.

I thank you for your continued custom and look forward providing our services to you again.

Regards Peter

PS I have now updated the website with all dates for 2017

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

George

Me and my son had a great time we managed in the first 2 days to catch and land 3 Salmon. Then the water level just became too low. I understand the water level has been low all season, this combined with 70 degrees temperature and full days of bright sun it was always going to be difficult.

The lodge is just what we wanted rustic and very comfortable. The glides took great care of us and can not fault them.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

George

Thanks for calling me back and taking the time to talk to me, plus completing the customer feedback form.

Congratulations on catching some fish very quickly. What a shame the water just became too low in the end. Its so frustrating when fishing is so weather and conditions dependant.

Also great news that your son managed to catch and land his very first ever Atlantic Salmon, a special moment that will never be forgotten.

I look forward in helping you both again soon on another adventure holiday.

Tight Lines Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

David

An excellent fishing trip, unfortunately the weather spoiled the fishing due to constant bright sunshine, high air temperature and low water, however I did manage to land a 7K hen fish which was returned safely after a quick photo session, I would definitely return to Winsnes due to the beautiful fishing location and friendliness of the entire staff,

Accommodation and food was excellent, the lodge has its own tackle shop above the log cabin restaurant, overall a great fishing trip and look forward to returning in 2017

Response from Sportquest Holidays

David

Thank you for your customer feedback, it was a shame about the weather and the low water, however during your trip you could see and appreciate just how good everything is and made even better when the fishing is on form.

Lets catch up in relation to getting you booked in a good week for 2017 as the dates are disappearing fast.

Kind Regards

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Daniel

Another great time thank you.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Danny

Thank you for your feedback it was good to have you both back with us again. I have tried to call you a couple of times but unfortunately keep missing you.

Feel free to call me in the office at anytime as it would be good to have a chat and also make plans for next year.

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Paul

River was beautiful, but low, which made the fishing disappointing. Wisents and staff were welcoming and the guide (George) was excellent. Probably only 25% of the water truly fishable (very little flow).

I would be keen to return (earlier in the season next time), as definitely left with a feeling of "unfinished business".

Disappointing that the direct flight from Gatwick was changed, made it a long journey.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Paul

Thank you so much for the feedback, such a shame that the river conditions made the fishing tougher than normal, if Atlantic Salmon fishing is not hard enough anyhow.

Glad you loved the place and would return as that always indicates a happy customer and I am sure you will sort out the feeling of unfinished business.

I agree its a pain when airlines either cancel flights or change flight times so they no longer work very well with the trip as the direct flight was just perfect before the airline changed things.

It will be a pleasure to have you back when you are ready.....

Regards Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Graham

We had a great time loved the place and they took great care of us.

Between the 2 of us we landed 4 fish to 30LB and lost another. Not bad considering the river was out of condition.

The only downside was the hire car which had bold tyres (below legal limit). I did complain when we returned the car. Hertz may be a better option for the future. The car we had was dangerous in the rain and could have caused problems for us with the police.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Graham, so good to catch up on the telephone, Glad that both you and Micheal enjoyed the week and well done both of you for the fish.

As discussed we will put in a complaint to Avis Car Hire about the bald tyres as this should never happen from such a large professional company. So please accept our apologies on this.

Once you have discussed dates with Micheal let me know which week you would like to return.

Tight Lines Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Stuart

Very much appreciated the real fishing experience, not manicured in any way.

Good accommodation and excellent food. Very helpful advice and guidance from George and useful having tackle shop on site.

Definitely glad I took felt soles for my boots!

Beat /river map would be a good thing for next season and perhaps a little more communication regarding the extent of the beats on day one.

I would return!

Photos to follow
Stuart

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Stuart

Thanks fore the feedback and review thats just perfect.

So glad you enjoyed your time and yes agree the guides are really good that Matt has thiere now.

Good idea about the beat / river map and will put this forward.

I am sure both us and the lodge will look forward in having you back at some stage.

Kind Regards Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Iain

A thoroughly enjoyable holiday on which I finally caught my first salmon despite the river being exceptionally low.

Matt went out of his way to encourage us all to try different tactics to ensure that we caught and it worked.

The Winsnes lodge is really pleasant and the family feel is really nice.

The flights were all good and the only possible issue would have been if the first flight (Manchester to Amsterdam) had been delayed at all, as the walk across the airport took us almost all of the time between landing and boarding the next flight.
We will almost certainly book to return to Winsnes in another couple of years.

Hopefully by then my spey casting will be better.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Iain

Thank you for your kind feedback, you and your group did extremely well considering the low water conditions, the reason is simple you listened to what we said and how to fish in the low water which paid off. Many anglers think they know better and insist doing it their way which normally means they do not get the results.

We look forward in having you all back in a couple of years, so thank you for your custom and I hope to be talking to you all agin soon.

Tight Lines

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Alex

Perfect

Response from Sportquest Holidays

HI Alex thanks for the review scores they mean a-lot to both me and the team

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

John

Thank you for a great trip.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

John thanks for the reviews and scores, we will also be in-touch about Iceland for you all next year.

Talk soon and again thank you for your continued custom.

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Douglas

Transfer in Schiphol onward was v. tight - it is a big place! Matt Hayes is a superb host. Anne Mariat also , whose family made us very welcome. Water was very low but no one can control that! We still caught fish. We will go back. Beautiful river and country. There were no guides but Matt talked us every pool on arrival and talked about what lie ie so we did not feel the lack hindered, with experienced fishers and the thin water, a guide was definitely not required.
The food was superb, the Elk stew a particular highlight. The whole family co operated in making our stay most comfortable and memorable Jakob is a real character and has good fishing tips to pass on.
Thank you for arranging a trip of a lifetime to celebrate my 60th birthday!

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Douglas, Thank you so much for a detailed review and your scores as they are very much appreciated. Yes the conditions have been tough this year but everyone has still managed to tweak a few fish. So so happy it made the holiday of a lifetime for your 60th birthday a huge congratulations from everyone at Sportquest Holidays.

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Chris

One of the best holidays I’ve been on.

Sportquest made sure everything was organised.

Kept me up to date.

Shared all joining instructions.

Winsnes Lodge is an amazing place.

Super friendly and inclusive. 4km of the best fly fishing I’ve seen. Book it !!

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Chris

So glad that it all paned out in the end, as the low water was very worrying at times, but as they say thats Salmon fishing and when it comes right its great fishing. The times we all hope and pray for.

I have tried to call you please feel free to call me when you are free

Thanks again

Kind Regards Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Alex

I have some great pictures from our trip. If you send me a memory stick I will put them on it and send back.

Absolutely no complaints about our trip only minor gripe I would have is there were no tea / Coffee making equipment in the rooms.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Alex

I was nice catching up with you and thank you for completing the feedback form. You and your group had a great time considering the conditions.

I will put a memory stick in the post today.

I look forward in looking after you all again soon.

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Malcolm

I had a fantastic time and caught my first Gaula Salmon, Im still gutted however about the one that got away! As there were only 4 of us fishing the guiding was provided by Matt Hayes himself. The way he manages the fishing is marvellous, his concern for welfare of the fish was so exemplary. Food was really good, although a bit more variety at breakfast would be appreciated!

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Thank you Malcolm for your kind words, I am thrilled that you had such a good time on this fantastic river. I agree with you about the way Matt approaches the rivers conservation efforts is first class, and he can take a great deal of credit for how this river continues to produce such good catch rates. I am pleased that you would like to go back and when you decide the dates please get in touch!

All the best

Jonny

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

William

Good holiday overall with the exception of lost luggage on arrival at Trondheim, we will not travel via Amsterdam again or use KLM. Apart from that a great holiday and fishing.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Bill glad to speak to you again and glad you had a great time. As discussed we will arrange for you to return next season. Kind Regards Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Phillip

Salmon fishing can be tough and was for the week I was there, but that's fishing. There could be better catch statistics for previous years. Would go again, yes.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Phil as you said Salmon fishing can be rewarding or give us a tough time as thats Salmon fishing. I am sure next year for your return things will be in your favour. Thanks for your feedback and also your custom as it is always very much appreciated.

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Alternative destinations

Fly Fishing Combo Trip Iceland

This Sportquest Holidays exclusive offers travelling rods the chance to fish some of the most picturesque and productive freshwater fly fishing rivers in all of Iceland. Our beats, located in the northern part of the country, offer two days of quality fishing on each of the Laxá In Aðaldal, Reykjadalsa & Mýrarkvísl Rivers.

Vatnsdalsá River Fly Fishing Iceland

The Vatnsdalsá River is one of the most famous Salmon rivers in Iceland and is renowned for the size of fish it produces. Located in the country's North West, approximately three hours drive from Reykjavik, it flows for over forty kilometres and offers a vast array of quality pools and beats. It produces between 700 and 1,200 Salmon each season, with a healthy average size.

Laxá In Aðaldal Trout Fishing Iceland

The Laxá In Aðaldal, also known as the Big Laxá, is one of the most famous rivers in Iceland. An enchanting river that fishes consistently well throughout the season, it's renowned for being one of the best Trout rivers in Europe and even the world, producing significant numbers of Brownies, averaging 2lb to 3lb, with a good sprinkling of specimens to over 8lb.

Lónsá River Fly Fishing Iceland

The River Lónsá is situated in northeast Iceland amid the Langanes Peninsula and is a name renowned amongst the freshwater fly fishing community. The Lónsá is home to an abundant healthy population of Brown Trout and is also considered one of the very best rivers in Iceland to target and catch the beautiful, elusive Arctic Char.

Reykjadalsá River Fly Fishing Iceland

The Reykjadalsa river, in the northern part of Iceland, is a tributary of the lower section of the Big Laxá I Adaldal and is known as one of the countries best wild Trout and Char rivers. Renowned as a surface fishing and dry fly anglers paradise, it produces high volumes of fish, and it hasn’t been unusual for the river to produce over 3,000 Trout per year.

Latest Reports

Week 26 Atlantic Salmon Fishing Report – Winsnes Lodge, Gaula River

This week out on the Guala didn't disappoint, with guests seeing some amazing fish coming to the bank with even a big 11kg+ bruiser being landed! Week 26 Atlantic Salmon Fishing Report The week began...
Woman fly fishing for huge salmon

Atlantic Salmon Fishing Report at Winsnes Lodge on the Gaula River

It's been an amazing week on the Gaula and here at Winsnes Fly Fishing Lodge! We have caught 54 salmon this week topped by this beauty measuring 109cm (est.13.4 kilo or approx 30 pounds) by...
winsnes lodge fishing

Winsnes Fly Fishing Week 27 Fishing Report

Week 27 at Winsnes Lodge in Norway. We spent the week battling the elements but it turned out well for Andy and the team of customers. For the week we managed 18 fish landed with...
Contact Us