Skip to content

Hosted Skrei Cod Mefjord Norway Monster Cod Of Norway

Customer Rating 85%
Tour Code NOR023

Guided Fishing In Norway Trips

Our hosted Skrei Cod fishing in Norway trips to Mefjord is a great way to experience this fishing style without the confusion of knowing where and when to fish. Our hosts have been fishing for Skrei Cod in the Norwegian waters for many years now and will put you on fish each day. They will teach you the rigs that work, how to tie them and when to use them.

The hosted Skrei fishing in Mefjord is building an excellent reputation now for providing anglers with some enormous catches of Cod, and along with other like-minded anglers, this is a great holiday to smash you Cod Pb’s. Each year fish approaching near world record sizes get caught, and it won’t be long before we see a Cod over 100lb. These fishing in Norway trips for Skrei Cod are not for everyone, it can be cold, and the water can get choppy, but if you can put up with that, you will be in for one of your life fishing experiences.

We offer some of the best pre-trip information outlining what tackle to take, what clothes to bring and a little information on how to catch these Cod which will be sent to you once you have booked. Our guides will be on hand leading up to your holiday for helpful advice and this will be your chance to get to know your hosts.

Mefjord Brygges Location

Being located up in the Arctic Circle, the destination of Mefjord is a beautiful little Norwegian fishing village steeped in history. The destination of Mefjord Brygge is surrounded by some of Norway’s most picturesque scenery. Mountains seem to appear from the water, and you will never tire of the views you will wake up to, day after day. In winter, these mountains are covered in snow and offer the chance for some phenomenal photograph opportunities.

The resort of Mefjord is found halfway down a very deep fjord meaning that it’s just a short distance out to the Skrei Fishing grounds, when it is flat calm you can be fishing prime Skrei grounds within 15 minutes of leaving the dock. This also means that if you would like to nip back for some food and a warm-up then it’s not too far to travel.

The village of Mefjord, located on one of Norway’s largest Islands, called Senja, offers many sheltered fjords if the open ocean gets a little choppy for fishing in Norway trips. Near the resort, there is a local supermarket that offers all the essential food items so you can enjoy your self-catering holiday. If cooking isn’t for you, you will find an immaculate and modern restaurant/bar on-site, offering freshly cooked meals and refreshing drinks.

Skrei Cod Fishing

You will be fishing the North Sea, and these waters are rich with life and nutrients, which makes for some incredible fishing at certain times of the year. Due to the time of year that these Hosted fishing in Norway trips run, you will be mainly fishing for the Skrei Cod. These Cod reach astronomical sizes, with fish being more than 70lb and the chance of a 90lb+ fish being a possibility.

The Skrei Cod fishing at Mefjord is so appealing to visiting anglers because you do not have to travel far to reach the fish; some of the Skrei grounds are under 20 minutes drive from the Harbour in the boat, meaning that you could be onto the vast shoals of fish in no time at all.

When you are out fishing for the Skrei Cod, you will be mainly drift fishing using the tide to create movement. The Shoals of Cod are sometimes very long, so you could find yourself hovering over the same shoal of Cod for hours. The bites are powerful from Skrei Cod and are not like your standard Cod; these fish are pumped up and will pull your arms off, especially if you hook a male Cod.

Once you have found your shoal of Cod on fishing in Norway trips, take note of the shoal’s depth and lower your shad down to meet the shoal’s top. The giant Cod are always at the top of the shoal, and with little movement on the rod, you will entice the big Cod to eat your lure, then hold on.

Mefjord Brygge Fishing Boats

There are 20 boats parked at the two floating bridges. The boats we use are 19ft Kværnø aluminium boats equipped with 50 hp four-stroke engines, GPS, chart plotter and fishfinder combined. The boats are perfect and safe for the far side of the island, towards the open ocean.

The boats are also equipped with AIS (Automatic Identification System) to improve security and safety. The AIS makes sure that the fishing manager at Mefjord can follow your boat’s position from the land and send a rescue boat in case of an emergency. Safety is a high priority, and this AIS system is something that all destinations should have fitted to every boat.

Sportquest Holidays Host

Each day on the fishing in Norway trips our host will arrange the time to go out whilst keeping a close eye on the weather conditions. The host will be driving one boat, and the other boat driven by one of the anglers that will follow the host out to the fishing marks. Each day, the host will swap people around, so everyone gets to experience some days fishing with the host. You will get to fish with the host for at least a couple of days, and this will give you valuable knowledge that will help you catch your dream fish.

Bring Fish Home From Norway

Many people like to bring fish back home with them, and you will be pleased to know that our destination of Mefjord Brygge is a registered camp that allows you to bring home 18 kilos of fish you so wish. You will be issued a small certificate on your last day to present to the airport’s customs people. You must look at destinations in Norway, and if you know you will be bringing fish home, make sure they are registered camps.

Accommodation

Mefjord Brygge situated on the beautiful Norwegian destination of Senja. This small fishing town is located within a vast fjord’s mouth, giving the angler the perfect opportunity to access the open sea for some fantastic fishing.

Self Catering Houses

Mefjord Brygge Lodge cabins have a small terrace overlooking the sea and also offer the benefits of stunning views. Our houses have a living room equipped with cable TV and free WiFi, meaning that whilst you are not fishing, you can make contact with family or surf the web and upload your monster fish pictures to social media. There are two bedrooms, the first ground floor bedroom has two bunk beds, and the loft bedroom has two single beds. The kitchen comes fully equipped, and the bathroom is spacious and roomy with a hot shower which is perfect to use after a long day on the water.

Normally, on the Hosted Sportquest Skrei holiday, we will use the stunning Northern Lights apartments which are located at the very front of the resort giving a perfect panoramic view of the fjord and the surrounding mountains. It’s just a very short walk down to the dock where your boats are stored.

Food & Drink

When staying at Mefjord Lodges, you will be here on a self-catering basis. There is a shop in the next village, now this can be accessed by walking which takes an hour, by asking the camp to take you in the minibus which costs a little bit of money or by driving to the harbour which is a small way down the fjord. You will be able to drop people off on the jetty, and they can walk a couple of minutes to the shop, grab the food and walk back to the boat for pick up. The quickest way to get food from the shop.

Also at Mefjord Brygge, you have a lovely restaurant. This restaurant serves some fantastic food, including homemade burgers (we highly recommend these), reindeer steaks. On odd occasion, they have specialities like King crab or Whale steak on the menu. You will be looking to pay around £20 -£40 a meal. They also have many great drinks on offer, along with local beers and a stunning wine list.

There are many other activities at this destination to take part in during the evening, such as a fully dedicated BBQ area you can hire. There is also an outdoor wood-fired hot tub, a sauna and a solarium, all hireable for a small fee and a great way to relax after a hard day fishing.

Book with confidence

We have worked hard to be able to provide you with the best prices possible. If you are quoted a lower price we will endeavour to beat it.
>
We take the stress out of the holiday planning process. All of our holidays include flights, transfer and accommodation making booking a holiday simple.
All our destinations our meticulously researched by our expert team, who take pride in planning and tailoring your holiday to your exact needs.
We are ATOL protected. This means you have the financial security on your holiday when booking through Sportquest Holidays.
When your trip benefits others, you gain too. All our trips support communities and preserve nature - which helps you get closer to both. So when you travel with us, everyone wins.
Covid-19 Promise
We recognise that flexibility is important when booking a holiday. Our Covid-19 promise provides an unprecedented level of flexibility.

Itinerary

TAILOR-MADE HOLIDAYS

Although the fishing days are fixed, the below itinerary is still flexible should you require additional free days to explore at the beginning or end of your holiday; we can tailor this itinerary to suit you personally. Feel free to talk to our travel consultants who can explain all options available.

Day 1:

Depart UK (alternative routes available)

Arrive
Oslo Depart Oslo

Arrive Bardufoss

Once the entire group have arrived at Bardufoss airport make your way to the baggage collection area. This airport is very small so once you have collected your bags simply wait outside the building for the rest of the group. There will be a minibus from Mefjord resort waiting to transfer the entire group. The transfer takes approximately 1hr 30 mins. On arrival at the camp, the owners will show you around the camp and then give you a quick briefing on the boats and where the fuel is kept.

Overnight accommodation: Mefjord Northern Light Apartment (Twin room) S/C

Days 2 to 4: Fishing Days

As this is a group trip, the group will decide the hours of fishing and people will be assigned boats to fit within their fishing hours. Your host will split his time between both boats helping and advising you all the way. Both boats will fish as a team and be in contact at all times informing each other if they are catching. As this trip is set up for the main run of Skrei Cod, fishing days will be mainly aimed at targeting these very large Cod.

Overnight accommodation: Mefjord Northern Light Apartment (Twin room) S/C

Days 5 to 7: Fishing Days

The main Skrei Cod fishing grounds are around a 20-30 minute steam out into the open ocean. In this area, the depths range from 60 – 140m and it may take a little while to find the shoals but once located the action can be fairly frantic with large Cod appearing all around the boats. If you would like to take a few Cod back for your evening meals, there is at this camp a BBQ area which you can hire for a small fee that comes complete with a seating area and coal for you to cook your fresh catch. We also have a large walk-in freezer room so you can freeze your catch ready to bring home.

Overnight accommodation: Mefjord Northern Light Apartment (Twin room) S/C

Day 8:

Depending on peoples flights times, your host will arrange a time for the entire group to be transferred back to Bardufoss airport. The transfer takes approx. 1hr 30 minutes

Depart Bardufoss

Arrive Oslo Depart Oslo

Arrive
UK

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Satisfaction Score 85%

View all reviews

FISHING Seasons

The season runs from March to October.

Skrei Cod

Season: March to April
Peak: March to April
Weight: 10lb to 90lb
Average Weight: 30lb

Cod

Season: March to October
Peak: March & April
Weight: 5lb to 60lb
Average Weight: 20lb

Halibut

Season: May to September
Peak: June to September
Weight: 20lb to 350lb
Average Weight: 60lb

Coalfish

Season: May to September
Peak: June to September
Weight: 5lb to 40lb
Average Weight: 15lb

Plaice

Season: May to September
Peak: July to September
Weight: 1lb to 8lb
Average Weight: 4lb

Wolfish

Season: March to October
Peak: March to October
Weight: 5lb to 15lb
Average Weight: 7lb

Package Details

Prices from
£2,109
per person

Included

  • All international flights (Based on London departure)
  • Transfers to and from Mefjord and Bardufoss
  • All accommodation as per itinerary
  • 6 days fishing via boat
  • Fishing boat
  • GPS
  • Chart Plotter
  • Echo/fish finder
  • Boat safety equipment
  • Life jackets
  • Bed linen, towels and final cabin cleaning
  • Access to a professional guide

Excluded

  • Fuel for boat
  • Fishing tackle
  • Personal holiday insurance
  • Meals
  • Final boat cleaning
  • Tips for the guide

Optional extras

  • Other UK departure airports are possible (additional cost) Please call a member of the Sportquest team for further information.
  • Additional luggage can be added, please enquire about up to date prices
  • Rod & Reel hire
  • Flotation suit hire
  • Boat Cleaning

Price Supplements

As this is a group trip there are no supplements for being a single angler.

View Latest Availability

Dates, Prices & Availability

Remember that Sportquest Holidays' services are completely FREE! When you book a trip with Sportquest Holidays, you never pay more than when you book directly with the lodge and flights independently.

Departing Returning Days Price Availability
29/03/2023 05/04/2023 8 £2,109 Sold Out
Skrei Cod Week Skrei Cod Week
03/04/2024 10/04/2024 8 £2,123 Enquire Now
Skrei Cod Week Skrei Cod Week
10/04/2024 17/04/2024 8 £2,123 Enquire Now
Skrei Cod Week Skrei Cod Week

Price Notes

Prices are per person and based on 2 people sharing a twin room and 4 anglers per guide/boat. (unless otherwise stated) and are correct at the time of going to press. Subject to time of year or date and currency fluctuations, these prices may fluctuate slightly due to flight price increases or fuel surcharge.

Make an Enquiry

To speak to an expert or receive more information about when is the best time to travel? What can you expect from your holiday? Who are the tour guides? Will someone be there to meet me? Plus, many more questions. Either call our offices, e-mail us or fill in the form, and we will get back to you asap.
+44 (0)1603 407596
sales@sportquestholidays.com
16 Alston Road
Hellesdon Park
Norwich
Norfolk
NR6 5DS

Reviews

Edwin

Mark and Matt were really fantastic and very hard working to keep us catching.

Really fantastic trip, broke my cod PB now 47lbs.

Only improvement is the weather.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Edwin

Thanks for the feedback.

It was great having you out there with us and seeing you break your PB was brilliant.

Hopefully we will get to chat soon about the other holiday destinations we discussed.

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Michael

Great Holiday with excellent help from the guides and catching a personal best Cod. Could not fault the fishing, not over joyed with 5 hr wait at Oslo for return trip, but thats not under your control.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Michael, glad to hear you liked the holiday and a huge well done on your new personal best Cod. It was a pleasure to have met you and hopefully I will get to guide you in the future

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Jimmy

Mefjord Brygge. Wow Wow Wow. Fantastic fishing and very friendly and clean.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Jimmy, it was great to finally meet you guys and thanks for the great feedback. Mefjord is a top destination with excellent fishing. I am personally very pleased you enjoyed the Cod fishing as I know how much you guys love your Cod fishing.

Hopefully we will catch up again one day and all the best

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Joe

My thanks to you Paul and Sportquest for a truly amazing experience which surpassed all my expectations.Everything start to finish was spot on. The accommodation at this venue is probably some of the best found in any fishing camp in Norway.As for the fishing on what was my first Skrei cod trip,well it would be difficult to better this venue at Mefjord.Seeing fish coming over the side of the boat between 20 and up to nearly 70lb was an awesome sight with coleys up to 20 lb a surprising bonus for April. To top it all off great weather, and humpback whales appearing near the boats feeding on mass shoals of capelin was an unforgettable experience.
Looking forward to my return trip next April to top my PB of 40lb caught on the recent trip.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Joe, it was great to meet you finally after all our telephone conversations and thanks for filleting my fish...... Well what can I say about your comments, it truly is an awesome place and I bet you can not wait until next year.

All the best

Response from Resort Manager

Hi Paul,

Thank you and your guest so much for this excellent feedback. It really means a lot to us and we hope that UK anglers fishing at Mefjord Brygge in cod season will be our annual tradition and some sort of kick-off for the brand new fishing season each year. We value Sportquest as one of our top partners with regards to fishing holidays.

Best regards
Radek on behalf of Mefjord Brygge Team
Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

John

The pre-trip information from Sportsquest was excellent and preparations went flawlessly. The problem was when we got to Bardufoss. Our clothes, fishing tackle and all our food did not arrive with us! Due to it being good Friday we could not even go to a supermarket to buy food as they were all shut. Luckily the camp contact, Michael, stopped in a garage and we managed to buy some frozen Pizzas and some eggs for breakfast the next day.
Luckily, Paul Stevens (Sportquest) was already in camp hosting a group of British anglers and after a quick discussion, the lads very kindly came up with some spare tackle and some warm clothes. I also hired a floatation suit from the camp.
The accommodation me and my pal were allocated was basic and small. We had one bedroom with a bunk bed, a small kitchen/living area and a bathroom. It was, however, clean and warm. It could have done with having a microwave and I would advise anybody going to take an ipad or other device for films and entertainment.
The next morning dawned sunny and calm but bitterly cold. Paul Stevens had given us some marks the evening before and off we went. We arrived at the mark at slack tide but started getting hits immediately. Very frustratingly, for the first couple of hours we lost every fish that hit. As soon as the tide picked up we started catching. My first fish was a 53lb cod, beating my previous PB by 36lbs! Over the next 4 hours we had about 25 cod between 10 and 53 lbs.
When we arrived back at camp all our gear and food had arrived and we soon forgot about the first days problems.
The second day went very much like the first. Lots of cod and the odd coley. the most notable fish were a 44, 36, 31 and 30 cod plus many others. The lures that seemed to work best for the bigger fish were a 730g Robocod Westin Big Bob, 270g real herring curl tail savage gear cutbait herring & 560g blue back savage gear 3D herring big shad. I had most of the smaller fish on a blue OTI jinkster 300g jig.
Day 3, again was like the first two days. Again, we had cod in the 40lb class. Most of my fish were caught on a 150g Nomura popping rod with a shimano saragosa 8000 spooled with 60 lb coloured diawa J-braid. Depth finding braid is essential as you can accurately fish at the depth the fish are, as indicated by the fish finder. My other rod was a Diawa kenzaki 30-50 with a Shimano Talica 12 loaded with 80lb coloured J-braid.
Day 4 was a non-fishing day due to the weather. We weren't allowed out.
Day 5 we tried twice to get to the cod grounds but were beaten back by the weather and ended up fishing in the fiord. We caught redfish, coley, ling and haddock which was fun. The last fishing day was also very windy and the boats were not allowed out until 16.00. Again we could only fish the fiord but had about 20 haddock, ling, redfish, cod and coley.
In summary, it was a fantastic trip and I will be going again and I will be going through Sportquest. The problems we had were nothing to do with Sportquest and no-one can control the weather but the 3 good days we had made the trip worthwhile by themselves.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi John, thanks for your feedback. It is very important to us and the resort you stayed at to hear real reviews.

Well done on your huge Cod and glad you liked your experience and it was lovely to have met you

All the best

Paul

Response from Resort Manager

Hi Paul,

Thanks for feedback and valuable comment. Unfortunately it’s the weather that the quality of skrei season fishing is mostly dependent on. We hope that in 2018 it will be more likely for fine weather. I also forwarded the message to Michael – maybe he will add some comments. Thanks for updates and we are in touch!

Radek
Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Anthony

When purchasing tackle in the on-site shop, the price needs to be shown & a better account system of whats been brought, also payment should be cash, if desired, as if paid by card, the banks take a surcharge.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Anthony, it was very good to fish with you again on the hosted trip. More and more places in Norway are now only excepting card for payments. I know about the surcharges on card but you do get charged a certain amount for changing money over!

Also thanks for taking the time to fill out your feedback form

Tight lines

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Mark

Becoming part of the team! I may be a bit biased! The fishing was first class and we managed to catch so many Cod that our arms were falling off. We got to see Humpback whales every day and the cabins were very good

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Mark, welcome on board. Yes the holiday was a great experience for everyone involved. Seeing those whales everyday was very special and just makes you realise how small you are when one of those whales were only 10ft from the boats.....

All the best and see you soon

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Kevin

Best part was the fishing when we actually managed to get out. The weather was awful, the Fjord exposed and the boats not powerful enough to tackle the strong wind and choppy sea. Tackle shop was bad. The venue was breath taking, the staff very helpful and the sportquest guide superb.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Kevin, we heard you had a really tough weeks weather but managed some good fishing when you got out. We have mentioned to the owners about the tackle shop and it is hopefully being addressed. Yes I have been there myself and totally agree that it is a stunning place and I shall pass your feedback on to our guide.

Hopefully we can speak soon and look forward to helping you out next year

Tight lines

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Ian

Not properly organised in Mefjord. There were times when we could have fished in the Fjord but were not allowed to use boats plus no paper charts etc on boats and cold store need a good clean out. Other than that I had a very good time when we were fishing etc. Apart from bad weather I had a good holiday. Fishing tackle shop, not a very good selection of goods.Cheers, Ian Wilson.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Ian, thanks for your feedback. It was such a shame about your week, the weather was dreadful. Glad you still had a great holiday.

I have mentioned to them about stocking the tackle shop with better gear and they are going to discuss it with some different suppliers.

All the best and see you soon

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Dean

The weather was very poor for our week. Spent 3 of our days in the cabin. We took spinning gear and caught fish off the harbour. Even so there is a lot of fresh water in the area which must hold fish!! We we were told there was a ferry to Tromso on our last day which would have ben better than watching TV. Mefjord seems to be a one trick Pony.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hello Dean, thanks for your feedback. The weeks weather on the hosted trip couldnt of been any worse. You guys had a tough week and its a real shame as Mefjord is a great location with a huge amount of potential. I have fished it many times and had huge fish.

Perhaps we should give everyone a list of other non fishing activities to do if the weather does turn bad

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Sean

Best part, Location fantastic. Fish quality excellent. Sportquest representative could have been interactive with the Irish party. Sub standard fishing reels were an issue ie, slipping

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hello Sean, thanks for your feedback and yes the fishing is fantastic especially the Cod. I am sorry if you felt we did not interact with you, but our fishing timings clashed a bit and you were out fishing when we were at the cabins and vice versa, plus we were only there for 3 days when you were there.

I have mentioned the rods and reels to the owner and he has said he will look in to new sets.

Where is next for you guys?

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Stephen

Great holiday

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Thank you for the scores Stephen

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Graeme

Great trip. Paul and Matt were let down by poor boats at the venue but we still managed to get out and fish every day

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Graeme, thanks for your feedback and have spoken with the owner and he has assured us that the boats will all be serviced before the start of the season next year. Glad you both enjoyed the holiday and thanks for the pictures especially like the one with you in front of the polar bear..... made me chuckle

Speak soon

Paul

Response from Resort Manager

“Indeed we had some technical problems with the boats at the start of the season. Unluckily minor faults (GPS connecting cable and problems depth sounder) were happening at the same time on two different boats, we are very sorry for that, but the boats are now fixed and fully operational, ready for action!” – Mefjord Brygge
Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Matthew

This was my 6th hosted trip to Northern Norway and Mefjord didn't disappoint. Admittedly we lost 3 days due to the weather but the fishing made up for it when we did get out. Getting up close to some humpback wales was an added bonus. The scenery is stunning and the fishing camp is well put together, with the accommodation to a high standard. The one meal we had in the restaurant was very nice.

The two hosts Mark and Matt were good fun but also very professional in their approach, making for a great trip. Similarly the team at Sportquest are always very helpful.

Thanks again

Matthew

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Matthew

I am glad you had a great time out there with us in Mefjord.

Hopefully we will get to chat soon and maybe I will see you again on a future hosted holiday.

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Andrew

Beautiful scenery and excellent fishing.

Essential to have good guides when visiting for the first time.

Negative side. Eastern European anglers overfishing these venues. Safety - No radio, flares or a safety boat. I have come to expect this in certain parts of the world but not from European countries.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Andrew

Thank you for the feedback.

It was a pleasure to have you on my boat for the week and to see you catch those two 50lb plus fish was excellent, hopefully I will get to chat to you in the near future about new destinations

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Paul

Great holiday which was disturbed a bit by the weather but the guides got us out fishing when they could. Radios on boat would improve safety / communication.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Paul

Thank you for your feedback.

It was a pleasure having you out with us in Mefjord and seeing you break your PB was excellent.

The weather was a bit trying at times but when we could get out the fish were definitely there.

Hopefully we will get to chat soon.

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Paul

Plenty of cod when we got out in good weather.

When fishing out in the fjord we threw some small coalie baits in and six Sea Eagles came swooping down for them. On the last day we had Humpback Whales eye balling usclose in to the boat.

Good trip back next year.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Paul

Thank you for your great feedback. it was a pleasure having you on my boat during this holiday.

Those Sea Eagles really were impressive creatures and seeing them and the Humpback Whales that close is a memory that will stay with me for a very long time.

Hopefully I will get to see you again on a future holiday.

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Glenn

In truth this was a hard going. We just didn't find the fish with only 2 standout sessions. 1 when we found the coalfish ( mid trip ) and one when we found some cod and haddock on the last day of the trip. I think it is important that if sportquest appoint a guide, no matter how affable, that they have some knowledge of the venue and dont waste days in entirely the wrong place. The venue, accommodation and scenery are great but having disappointing catches whilst seeing huge cod to 70lb regularly being landed was extremely frustrating. My biggest cod was 15lb not what I was led to believe I would catch or what I was expecting to catch. At least our hours of searching for fish will benefit the next trip !

I hope for better thigs when I travel to Cost Rica in 2020

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Glenn

Thank you for the honest feedback.

Hopefully I will get to chat to you again in the near future

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again

Jason

Great holiday let down by the weather and lost luggage on transfer. Pre information on tides would help, we had no tide at all and definitely hampered our fishing. No big fish which we guessed was the lack of tide. Overall great time and thanks

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi jason, such a shame about the tide not being there. The place doesnt have much drift even when the tides are big. I tend to use the engine to push the boat along does sometimes catch bonus fish. Glad you all still had a great time

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Ian

Accommodation as expected!

Fishing much better than expected!

Size + variety in abundance.

All helped by perfect weather.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Ian

Simple but perfect customer review.

We look forward in looking after you again in just over 1 months time

Regards Peter

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Alternative destinations

Mortimer and whitehouse gone fishing Norway Christmas special

Mortimer And Whitehouse Norway Christmas Special

We were exceptionally proud to be involved with the Mortimer and Whitehouse Gone Fishing Christmas Special to Norway in 2022. Being the first time the programme had ventured outside the UK, it took a tremendous amount of work to produce the itinerary and cater for the thirteen-strong production team, but it was a fantastic couple of weeks away. If you enjoyed the programme, here is more information on Paul and Bob's trip and the itinerary it followed.

Mefjord Brygge Sea Fishing Norway

If you are looking for a family fishing holiday then Mefjord is the destination for you. Not only is this an anglers paradise with super-sized specimen Cod, Halibut and Coalfish coming out of the waters at various times of the year but there are also a huge variety of activities on offer to keep the whole family entertained.

Hosted Sea Fishing Lofoten Norway

Ever fancied going to Norway to do battle with some of the hard fighting fish that this part of the world is known for and struggled to get your friends to join, well now is your chance to come on your own and fish with like minded anglers. The waters around Lofoten Islands are a magnet to the mighty Halibut plus all the usual species.

Hosted Vesterålen Fishing Norway

We are extremely pleased to be able to offer you yet another fantastic opportunity to fish this part of the world as a single angler or small group and would like to welcome you to Vesterålen. Located in the north of Norway surrounded by some of the most stunning landscape Norway has to offer. This destination is an excellent area for a mixed species trip.

Hosted Halibut Havoysund Norway

A great fully hosted trip to Havoysund Norway Guided Fishing. Truly an outstanding place in Norway with it being the most northerly part of Norway you can get to, you will agree with us that the fishing is World class. It is mainly known for the outstanding Halibut fishing on offer and is ideal for single anglers wanting to experience Norway.

Latest Reports

Hosted Mefjord, Norway Fishing Report 6th April 2022

The week begins... As always on day one at Mefjord, it takes some time to sort out boat contracts, shop run and getting all hire equipment sorted and everyone was finally ready to go around...
ALPHONSE ISLAND Fly Fishing

The Hosted Mefjord Skrei Holiday 2019 – Fishing Report

Cod.. These are the fish at the forefront of the UK sea anglers mind. Once upon a time anglers fishing Great Britains coastlines had the chance of catching these amazing fish to sizes that are...

Fantastic First Day For The Customers At Mefjord – Fishing report

We have just received a report from the customers fishing Mefjord, despite the wind and weather being against them they have been able to get out and have certainly been finding the fish! Here is...
Contact Us