Skip to content

Hosted Halibut Havoysund Norway Guided Fishing in Norway

Last Chance - Due to cancellation 1 space is now available
Customer Rating 84%
Tour Code NOR010  

Fully Guided Sea Fishing

Our fully hosted Havoysund Norway Guided Fishing trip to the world-famous Havoysund is known for its outstanding Halibut fishing. On this hosted sea fishing trip, you will have a guide every day, so there is no need to drive a boat, work out the fishing marks, position the boat, or what depth to fish. Our guides on this Havoysund Norway trip worry about this for you, allowing you to concentrate purely on fishing. Another benefit is that there is no extra charge for single anglers or small groups.

If you are travelling alone or in a small group, you will be sharing the boat and accommodation with other anglers. Each trip is based on eight people sharing two cabins, with one standard boat and the guide boat, so you may end up sharing with other like-minded anglers all looking for the same experience.

Sportquest Holidays has been taking hosted trips to Havoysund now since 2008 and each year the trips become more and more popular and booking well in advance is now essential to ensure your place. We normally release the dates up to two years in advance so make sure you sign up for our weekly newsletter so you get to hear about the new dates.

North Cape Fishing

Havoysund is the most northerly point in Norway to visit and stretches out into the North Sea. The Havoysund camp situated on a narrow strait that stretches from east to west, meaning you can always get out and fish, whatever the wind. You can either head east or west or take some shelter from the surrounding islands. These areas’ untapped potential merely is enormous, with many marks never seeing an angler’s bait and lure.

There are two main fishing areas at Havoysund Norway, the fjords and the open ocean. If you choose to fish in the open sea, you can simply head off in a northerly direction, and after driving for 20 minutes, you will have endless open water fishing opportunities.

The many different fjords surrounding the Havoysund fishing camp are an excellent change from the open sea and offer great Halibut fishing and Plaice fishing grounds. You will also find costal Cod averaging around 10lbs and many other species to go at, all in very sheltered waters.

How to Catch Halibut & Cod

This destination is gaining a reputation as the Giant Halibut fishing capital of Norway, with many specimen sized fish caught here each year. As this is a hosted fishing holiday, you will be guided on your boat each day by one of our hosts and one of the Nordic Sea Angling fishing guides. These hosts/guides will drive the boat for you, leaving you to relax and enjoy fishing. You will be aided from start to finish each day by your host/guide, who will find the fish, steer the boat, help you with your fishing day, land your fish and take the photographs of your prized catch.

When Halibut fishing, you will be primarily shad or dead bait fishing. These fish reach sizes above 2 metres and many fish of this size caught here each year. Havoysund does not just offer Halibut; it is also well known for its phenomenal Plaice fishing. There are also many other species to target, including Cod, Coalfish, Haddock and Wolffish. Head over to our YouTube channel to see what Giant Halibut fishing in Norway is all about.

There are many different fishing methods in Havoysund Norway, and we have tried to cover this off in our Ultimate Norway Fishing Guide written by our fishing guides to help and assist you when making decisions on what fishing tackle to take and how to use it. 

Guided Boats in Norway

We have 10 of the best fully equipped boats from a Swedish company called Arronnet. Perfect for Halibut fishing in Havoysund Norway. The boats designed to be fast, stable at sea, even in the roughest of conditions, and their reliability. They all came fitted with Suzuki 150hp 4 stroke engines, chosen for their safety and fuel-efficiency. Also, how excellent the service is from Suzuki.

All boats come with the most up to date Garmin fish finders, chart plotters and VHF radios. Each boat has the AIS system fitted. Meaning our guides at the cabins can constantly monitor where each boat is at any time during the fishing days. If there is ever an issue, the cabin staff will instantly know exactly where each boat is.

Norwegian Fishing Guides

You will be guided from start to finish by either a Sportquest Holidays host or an English speaking guide from the camp. They will assist you with everything you may need on your fishing holiday—experienced, helpful and friendly. Our hosts are well-known for their professionalism when guiding visitors in Havoysund Norway. Your host will be on hand at all times to offer any advice on the fishing that you will be doing.

Advantages of Joining Hosted Trips

Many people ask what the difference is between hosted and self-drive. Self-drive holidays always based on a certain amount of people travelling together. The normal-sized group is four people sharing a cabin and a boat, well on a hosted trip, you can travel alone or as a small group at no extra charge. Plus, you will get a host/guide drive the boat leaving you plenty of time to catch fish without the worry of driving the boat, positioning the boat and more importantly, landing the colossal fish you will be catching. You can see our full list of hosted Sea fishing trips that may interest you.

Accommodation

The destination of Havoysund is located as far North in Norway as you physically get; this small fishing town is world-renowned for its fantastic Halibut fishing that you will find in and around the waters of all the little islands that pop up out of the water here.

Self Catering Cabins

The cabins in Havoysund are of high quality and are stylishly furnished. In each house, you will find that there are two bedrooms. Both these bedrooms are upstairs, and each has two single beds. As well as these bedrooms you will find a large living room, fully equipped kitchen and a bathroom with a very nice hot shower.

The cabins each have Widescreen TV’s with limited Norwegian channels to watch. Each house also features its very own terrace that looks out onto the harbour. This harbour has a breakwater and has jetties as well on which, if you wish, you could visit with shore fishing tackle or lure tackle to fish for the many species that swim here, including Coalfish, Dabs and Plaice.

Onsite Restaurant 

When staying at Havoysund Cabins, you will be here on a self-catering basis. There are two supermarkets on the Island both within walking distance. Here you will find the same food as you will buy in the UK. Things are a little more expensive but if you shop smart you can save a little money

The local supermarket stocks everything you would find at home and even some true Norwegian delights. 

The onsite restaurant/bar is also open at night, meaning that anglers can head over for a cold beer or a glass of wine and sample the many delights they have on offer, including juicy burgers and BBQ sticky rack ribs.

The fully stocked tackle shop is next to the cabins, so if you decide not to take any fishing tackle, you will find everything available to purchase at very reasonable prices. They stock a vast array of kits, all from leading brands.

Book with confidence

We have worked hard to be able to provide you with the best prices possible. If you are quoted a lower price we will endeavour to beat it.
>
We take the stress out of the holiday planning process. All of our holidays include flights, transfer and accommodation making booking a holiday simple.
All our destinations our meticulously researched by our expert team, who take pride in planning and tailoring your holiday to your exact needs.
We are ATOL protected. This means you have the financial security on your holiday when booking through Sportquest Holidays.
When your trip benefits others, you gain too. All our trips support communities and preserve nature - which helps you get closer to both. So when you travel with us, everyone wins.
Covid-19 Promise
We recognise that flexibility is important when booking a holiday. Our Covid-19 promise provides an unprecedented level of flexibility.

Itinerary

tailor-made holidays

Although the fishing days are fixed, the below itinerary is still flexible should you require additional free days to explore at the beginning or end of your holiday; we can tailor this itinerary to suit you personally. Feel free to talk to our travel consultants who can explain all options available.

Day 1:

Depart UK (alternative routes available)

Arrive
Oslo

Once the entire group arrive at Oslo airport and have collected the luggage, you will then make your way outside of the terminal where you will be faced by a long row of bus stops. This is where you will take the shuttle bus to your overnight hotel (shuttle bus not included) The ticket has to be purchased when you board the bus. The hotel is around a 10-minute drive.

Overnight Accommodation: Oslo Airport Hotel (Twin Rooms) B/B

Day 2:

At a pre-arranged time you will meet the group outside the hotel to take the shuttle bus back to the airport for your onward flight.

Depart Oslo

Arrive
Alta

Once the group have collected their bags, make your way out of the turn style doors and turn right. Follow the walkway to the end where there will be a coach waiting to transfer the group to Havoysund fishing camp. You will then be transferred by private bus from Alta to Havoysund fishing camp. (Transfer time approx 2.55 hrs). When you have arrived the onsite guide will greet everyone and hand out the keys to your cabins. A short while after this there will be a meeting where the guides will give you a quick briefing on your week ahead, this is a great time to ask any questions you may have.

Overnight Accommodation: Havoysund Fishing Camp (Twin rooms) S/C

Days 3 TO 5: Fishing Days

As this is a group trip, the group will decide the hours of fishing and people will be assigned boats to fit within their fishing hours. Each day our host will discuss with the group species they want to target and advise on what the best methods are. Our host has been fishing this camp for many years and has grown a superb knowledge of all the fishing areas and will take you to certain places targeting your chosen species.

Overnight Accommodation: Havoysund Fishing Camp (Twin rooms) S/C

DAYS 6 TO 8: Fishing Days

The boats we use at this camp are the very best boats in Norway. They are 23.5ft boats with 135hp 4stroke engines. Boats come equipped with all of the very best electronics to make your fishing the easiest it can be. There are hundreds of pre-programmed marks on the plotters for you to choose from and there are also lots to be discovered. The guide will make sure you are fishing the correct methods for your chosen species, they will also assist with that all-important trophy shot so you can show your friends and family what you have been catching.

Overnight Accommodation: Havoysund Fishing Camp (Twin rooms) S/C

Day 9:

Early in the morning at a pre-arranged time, the entire group will be transferred back to Alta ready for your return flights. There is only one transfer per day due to the distance so if your flight departs later than everyone else’s you will have a little wait at the airport.

Depart Alta

Arrive Oslo Depart Oslo

Arrive
UK

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Satisfaction Score 84%

View all reviews

FISHING Seasons

The season runs from April to September.

Halibut

Season: May to September
Peak: June to September
Weight: 20lb to 350lb
Average Weight: 50lb

Cod

Season: April to September
Peak: April to June
Weight: 10lb to 80lb
Average Weight: 25lb

Coalfish

Season: May to September
Peak: June to July
Weight: 5lb to 40lb
Average Weight: 10lb

Plaice

Season: May to September
Peak: July to September
Weight: 1lb to 8lb
Average Weight: 4lb

Package Details

Prices from
£1,944
per person

Included

  • All international flights (Based on London departure)
  • Airport hotel
  • Transfers to and from Havoysund and Alta
  • All accommodation as per itinerary Self Catering basis
  • 6 days fishing via guided boat
  • Fishing Boat with Sonar, chart plotter (GPS), VHF & radar
  • Freezer storage for your fish
  • Access to professional guide for guidance
  • Bed linen, towels and final cabin cleaning

Excluded

  • Oslo airport-hotel transfers
  • Fuel for boat
  • Fishing tackle
  • Personal holiday insurance
  • All meals & drinks
  • Tips for the guide
  • Final boat cleaning

Optional extras

  • Other UK departure airports are possible (additional cost) Please call a member of the Sportquest team for further information.
  • Additional luggage can be added, please enquire about up to date prices
  • Fishing equipment (rod, reel, line) £50 pr week
  • Survival suits £45 pr week

Price Supplements

As this is a Hosted trip there are NO single angler supplements

View Latest Availability

Dates, Prices & Availability

Remember that Sportquest Holidays' services are completely FREE! When you book a trip with Sportquest Holidays, you never pay more than when you book directly with the lodge and flights independently.

Departing Returning Days Price Availability
10/08/2022 18/08/2022 9 £1,944 Sold Out
08/08/2023 16/08/2023 9 £2,028 Enquire Now
Fully Guided Weeks Fully Guided Weeks
15/08/2023 23/08/2023 9 £2,028 Enquire Now
Only 2 Spaces remain Only 2 Spaces remain
22/08/2023 30/08/2023 9 £2,028 Enquire Now

Price Notes

Prices are per person and based on 2 people sharing a twin room and 4 anglers per guide/boat. (unless otherwise stated) and are correct at the time of going to press. Subject to time of year or date and currency fluctuations, these prices may fluctuate slightly due to flight price increases or fuel surcharge.

Make an Enquiry

To speak to an expert or receive more information about when is the best time to travel? What can you expect from your holiday? Who are the tour guides? Will someone be there to meet me? Plus, many more questions. Either call our offices, e-mail us or fill in the form, and we will get back to you asap.
+44 (0)1603 407596
sales@sportquestholidays.com
16 Alston Road
Hellesdon Park
Norwich
Norfolk
NR6 5DS

Reviews

Paul

A big thanks to our Guide Paul for such a great trip. you made this a very good memory for my 11 year old son and thanks for helping him land a Halibut

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Thank you Paul, it was great to finally get you out on one of my trips. i know you are normally used to hotter places and really appreciate the kind feedback

I was also impressed with how well your son handle the Halibut, very well done

See you soon

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Tony

Hi Paul; Many thanks for helping me achieve my target of a huge Norwegian Halibut. i thought from our conversations before we left that we may get in to some big fish but that Halibut was massive! i will be coming with you again next year to see if we can get some more huge Plaice

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Tony, it was great to see you finally after so many phone calls and glad that i could help and be there for your great capture. I am still drooling over the pictures it is the biggest Halibut i have had in my boat so a massive well done

Regards

Paul

PS Cod next….

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Peter

Had a great time caught plenty of fish and my biggest Halibut was 153cm which was much bigger than i had ever dreamt of catching. Really enjoyed catching a variety of fish and will for sure be back soon

Many thanks

Peter

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Really glad you got your big Halibut and that is the reason for this area. Look forward to hosting you again next time

All the best Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Stuart

Paul coped very well with a very testing week due to clients. His interest in the fishing is a real help and is as good as ive found in my travels. The fishing was excellent and would fish in norway again but find the cost of living(food fuel etc) there hard to stomach when compared to every where else ive fished.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Stuart

Thanks for your kind words and dealing with difficult clients is what i am there for, people just have different expectations

I am glad you managed to get your big Halibut and hope you liked the pictures, fish like that do not come around everyday so a very big well done

Hope you have as much luck in India for the Mahseer

Regards

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Colin

Unfortunately i didnt manage any Halibut this time but the Cod fishing was brilliant and i even managed a Plaice weighing over 6lb's which made my trip.

A little tip if you are thinking of going one day is to fish off the jetty in the evenings as the Plaice and dab fishing is brilliant, just use prawns and light leads catch one after the other

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Colin, i am sorry you didnt manage a Halibut this time but i am sure you will next time. The cod fishing was on fire this year and i think every one returned home with new PB's

I like the tip for fishing off the jetty, i couldn't believe you were doing it after fishing for 10 - 12 hours a day in the boat and the next thing was i saw you going fishing, mad keen

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Richard

What a trip! made even more memorable by the guide and the camp owners

See you all next year

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Thank you Richard for you kind words

Regards

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Simon

if you are looking for Halibut then look no further, this part of Norway is the best. a little bit exposed but very good fishing and all right on your door step

Please call me for next year

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Simon, i have always said that this destination is to me the best place for Halibut not just numbers of them but also the size is impressive and yes the fishing is all very close to the camp

I have set a reminder to call you

Speak soon

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Gary

Great trip all round, excellent host in Paul whom is very helpful and knowledgeable.
Not a single problem from booking the trip to returning home.
Oh and the small matter of pulling up the biggest fish i have ever done and ever likely to with that 183cm, 86 kilo Halibut.
Many many thanks Gary Winterbottom.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Thanks Gary it was a pleasure having you out there and hope you enjoyed my last phone call as we have managed to get you out there next year. Hopefully we will get you a smaller Halibut so you can have a picture holding it......

Really looking forward to seeing you next year and as always just call me if you have any questions

All the best and see you soon

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Michael

For the second time this year, the group was blessed with exceptionally good weather for fishing. On arrival the sun was so hot I thought we had gone the wrong way and landed in Spain rather than the Artic circle! I did not catch anything exceptional to my own rod on this occasion but witnessed the capture of a Halibut assessed at around 175 pounds on our boa. An incredible fish. Will be booking again.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hello Mike, tell me about the weather!! it was stunning and something that i hope happens in the future. It changed the day we came home unfortunately very windy for the other guys we had going out there.

The big Halibut caught on your boat was huge and something that will live in the memory of the angler for years to come. Roll on June for your next trip

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Mark

Hello Sportquest / Paul

Thanks for organising yet another great trip to Norway for me. This time i went to Havoysund and loved it, in fact i loved it that much that i booked a trip back for the following hosted trip when i was still there.

We had very good Cod and coalfish with the odd Wolffish and no Halibut at the start of the holiday. Not that we did not try our hardest, but that changed at the end of the holiday as the last two days the Halibut fishing really kicked off. We all had huge Halibut and Henrik was brilliant

I can not recommend this place in Norway enough. The camp, the staff and facilities were top class and am already counting down the days for next year. Thanks paul your guiding was as always very good

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hello Mark, glad the trip lived up to your expectations again. Havoysund is my favourite destination in Norway, everything is always so well organised and i get on really well with the guides there.

Now you know what Havoysund is like you will be more equipped next year

All the best and thanks for filling out your feedback form

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Kevan

I had an excellent trip, well organised and very professional with good communication. The guide Paul wa top class and i ended up with four personal bests including a 2015 camp record summer cod of 53lb.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Thanks for your kind words and was pleased as you were with that Cod. We had a great laugh and can not wait to see you in the near future

All my very best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

IAN

The holiday itself was the best thing throughout, So much so that Ill be booking again soonest. The most pleasing thing was when I finally hooked a Halibut although I was given advise ,I was left to fight with it and finish by landing it Another part that the whole group were thank full for the weather was brill.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hello, thank you for taking the time to fill out your feed back form it is very useful for others looking for the same trip.

Yes we were blessed with some of the finest weather Norway had. I think every one had a great time as the trips have now sold out for next year and 2017.

Congratulations on your Halibut a perfect sized one to get some great pictures. Well done and i will be seeing you soon

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Mike

Dear Paul, Apart from the weather (rain, sleet and about 2 hours sunshine all week!) it was
, as usual, an enjoyable break from work. I did not see any exceptional fish but all on our boat contributed to a total of seven Halibut (of which mine weighed in at around 4LBs!) We had lots of Cod, several Woolfies and some nice Plaice.

The flight out of Alta was delayed one hour but we just managed to catch the connection to Copenhagen with minutes to spare.

The airlines are currently a nightmare with baggage. on the way out, one guy had his rod tube damaged and a rod broken. On the return journey they managed to lose the same tube altogether. My fish box, full of fish, mostly Halibut, did not appear at Manchester and I am praying they will find it today.

All this has not, so far, put me off and my cheque is enclosed for the next trip!

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Mike, thanks for sending us your feedback on the trip. Sounds like the fishing picked up in the last part of your week. I believe the weather was to blame.

Really glad you liked Havoysund again and look forward to hosting you there again in August.

What a disaster about the flight company! something that is just part of travelling unfortunately.

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Colin

Two days travel to get there was a pain, three flights and long waiting times in-between. Weather as expected but very windy on first few days which affected how we fished. However all had a brilliant time, good banter with other guests, PB's on everything caught, an experience I throughly enjoyed. recommend to anyone despite long travel days.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Colin, thank you for your feedback it is very helpful for future travellers.

I know it seems like it takes a little while to get there but thats how the flights line up from the UK and you know what they say about the best fishing is always the hardest to get to.

I really felt for you guys with the horrible start to the week with regards to the weather. But as soon as it broke and you could reach the good grounds, I believe Havoysund showed you its potential and everyone caught lots of lovely fish. I really like the shot of your Halibut on the deck I bet you have been enjoying that at home?

Hopefully we can organise a trip for you in the near future. I will call you once I return from Norway myself. Thanks for the pictures I will write a blog on the trip when I return

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Nick

Excellent trip, although weather could have been better for the first 4 days. Lodges were very good. The large Halibut were the obvious highlight, although my 23lb Cod was a great catching experience!

The three flights on the out and return trip were hard work, especially as we had a 4 hour wait at Alta but less than 40 mins for transfer at Oslo

Camaraderie and banter was also brilliant with lodge mates - Friends for life

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Nick, thanks for your feed back.

I did hear that there were some great big Halibut caught and well done on your Cod. Hope Kevin looked you all and hopefully you would like to go again sometime.

The flight route of three flights to get there was a pain but it was explained that the flights from Manchester were longer than from London. And to have that horrible delay at Alta meaning you had to run when you got to Oslo was a massive pain.

Look forward to helping you in the near future

Tight lines

Paul Stevens

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Mark

Great camp, shame we had poor weather, only thing is the distance to the fishing grounds can be a trek. Didnt expect the fuel bill we had. Maybe this could be explained when booking as a 1st time to camp.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Mark, It was such a shame about the weather and may of been the reason why the fish were located where they were. Normally the fishing marks are fairly close. Some marks the guides fish are a distance away but generally they only fish them if the fishing is very good.

When those boats are battling against high winds they do use a fair amount of fuel and with the exchange rate being not great we do feel it in the price of fuel. The engines on those boats are the most fuel efficient engines and normally in good weather run very well.

By the look of your pictures you managed some good fish and I bet you are looking forward to going back next year?

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Gary

Best part was getting 7th largest fish in the Halibut Festival. Excellent guides and boats. Fantastic destination, if you are after the big one.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Gary, so glad you enjoyed Havoysund again. Second time there for you and booked again for 2018, the place must be worth while going to. Havoysund is my Favourite place in Norway.

Well done again on your Halibut and what some fantastic prizes you got for it and you got your Halibut pin you wanted so much I am very pleased for you and look forward to seeing you again in a couple of years

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Phillip

Overall happy with holiday. One observation being that after being entered into a competition we were then told that we would not have access to any guides for two days. Drivers for the boat were provided, but were not guides by any means. The paid for guides were already in the competition, so would not have been available to us anyway.
Another small point is that at this resort card was almost demanded to exclusion of cash.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Phil,

Thanks for taking the time to fill out and send back you feedback form.

Before everyone entered the competition and before we left the UK, I called all the anglers who wished to fish the competition to make sure they all were aware that on the 2 days of the competition there would be no guides available for the 2 day event. Every one agreed that this would be ok. This was something that was told to everyone as this was advertised as a guided trip so I had to make it clear to every one.

With regards to the card over cash, this seems to be the way most Scandinavian countries are now going and I can see the benefits. That way people do not need to take cash and then loss out on it when they return back to their own country with exchange rates.

Glad you liked the holiday overall and hopefully we can help you organise a future trip

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Ivor

Worst weather ever in Havoysund (according to our guides) for our first 4 days. Although I'd looked up the tidal range it did not prepare me for the strength of the currents between the islands and most of my weights/pirks were just not heavy enough in 60m plus. Did buy a heavier pirk from the shop but very expensive. We had one fantastic 2 hour period in an evening when we followed the guidebook and I caught several cod to 25lb, 38lb was the largest on the boat. One halibut caught on our boat on the last day when guide came out with us. Overall a poor week's fishing for me although other boats had fantastic catches. Would book guideboat if went again. Massive petrol bill, first day we had used £100 of fuel, not sure brochure suggested bill would be so high, about £450 overall.


Well organised trip, pity we had to stop overnight in Oslo although hotel was very good and breakfast was a superb buffet catering to all tastes. Accommodation at Havoysund was adequate and kitchen quite well equipped. Provided breakfast was o.k. with cereals, boiled eggs etc. If you travel alone be aware that you will be sharing with probably 3 others!
Foul weather for our first 4 days and although the tide heights don't look much it really rips between the islands and you do need lots of heavy gear, pirks etc need to be at least 400g in such conditions as you are fishing in 45-90m of water! Chrome pirk worked best for me and I caught about 12 cod over 15lb, biggest 25lb and largest on our boat 38lb. Overall the boats with the guides had the best fishing with loads of halibut up to around 100 lb. Shop has an extensive range of gear but prices are steep so best take your own.
Petrol costs are significant, allow about £150 per person over the 6 days.
I enjoyed the trip overall and would recommend Sports quest. My next trip will be to warmer climes though!







Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hello Ivor, thanks for your feedback form and glad to hear you eventually got out fishing. I was watching the weather when you guys were out there and was praying it would change.

With regards to the fuel bill, all the boats in Norway we use are equipped with the most fuel efficient petrol engines you can buy. When the boat is fighting strong currents the boat will of course use more fuel. We always tell people to budget around £150 pp based on four people in the boat for the week. It shouldn't be more than this for a weeks fishing so for you guys a fuel bill for the boat for the week of £450 overall was not bad.

It is a real pain to have to overnight in Oslo but that is the only way as the flights leave Oslo on the Wednesday far to early to get you there from the UK.

Thanks for your kind words and hopefully we can organise you your next adventure (some where warmer)

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Shane

Had a great time in Norway,

Havoysund for the second time this year.

Met a good bunch of guys and the guides having excellent knowledge of the area.

Fishing was slow for the Halibut in comparison to the March trip for the big Cod but still great fun.

I'll be back

Shane

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Shane as always thank you so much for your customer feedback, reviews and continued custom as it is always much appreciated.

It was a shame the halibut fishing was slow compared to normal which as we all know was just down to weather conditions.

We look forward in looking after you again next season.

However please get in contact asap as there is already very very little space on our sea fishing trips for 2018.

Regards Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Matthew

This was my first time summer fishing in northern Norway with halibut, cod and large coalfish the targets. So I didn't quite know what to expect after 3 successive trips to Soroya for the Skrei fishing.

We arrived to be told the weather was looking windy the next day but there was the option to go out that evening fishing, so we fished until 1.30am in the "midnight sun". That, in its self, was a an amazing experience and we got 7 days fishing!!

The weather wasn't with us all week (it snowed most days) and we never quite had the conditions we needed. Due to the weather we couldn't get out to the cod grounds so had several days of solid halibut fishing which is hard work. However when you finally hook one they are amazing fighters, my first ever was 66lb so chuffed to bits. When we finally got out to the cod grounds the sea was too rough to allow us to get to the best spots, and fish effectively due to the size of the swell. Least we got some sport though!

So the fishing was difficult due to the weather (that's fishing ) but both Mathew Rickard and the Nordic Sea Angling lads did their best to put us on the fish. All in all a really good week though and looking forward to going back to Havoysund for the Skrei in March.

Thanks you Sportquest.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Matthew

Thanks as always for both your custom and customer feedback

So glad you enjoyed the trip and also understand that sometimes the weather makes things a little tougher and thats what we all call it fishing.

I am sure you will have an amazing time in the spring again chasing those huge Skrei Cod.

Have good one and feel free to call me in the office at anytime.

Tight Lines Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Mark

2nd trip to Havoysund, both times with bad weather unfortunately, but biggest concern is distance needed to travel to find fish, especially Cod. Big fuel bill £185.

Cabins could do with a bit of TLC now. Shower cubicle falling apart and stuff like that.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Mark

Thanks again for the feedback, points have all be noted and based on to Nordic.

Its a shame about the weather as Havoysund is an amazing place both for the huge Skrei cod and halibut. One reason that your fuel bill was high was also down to th the weather and distances having to travel to find feeding fish.

You will love A next year for as you can see the fishing has been off the charts. So lets look forward and fingers crossed for 2018

Regards Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

William

Site was good.

Fishing and weather was poor.

Boats were very good.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

William

Thank you for the feedback as it is always appreciated.

Such a shame that the weather for the hosted trip this year was tough. It was a shame that you did not get to see the destination in its true true colours.

Normally the fishing is full on action. However thats why everyone calls it fishing. So so many times we are controlled by the weather.

As mentioned it will be a pleasure to look after you again to either back to Norway or Canada.

Just contact us when you are ready.

Kind Regards
Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Ben

The holiday was well planned and set out.

Effective communication both written and verbally meant no surprises and / or problems were encountered - great trips!! Thanks :-)

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Ben

Thank you for your feedback and kind words.

This was the first time you have used our services so it was very pleasing to see the kind things you said.

So glad you enjoyed the trip and we look forward in having you join us on a trip again soon.

Regards Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

David

Camp, guides, host, boats all excellent!

I would suggest there maybe should be some info on what are the best months for halibut fishing!

For example September / October rather than early in the year!

Thoroughly enjoyed the trip!

Response from Sportquest Holidays

David

So glad you enjoyed the holiday and thank you for your comments and remarks that I have noted and will make sure we do as your suggestion.

It will be good to have you both back with us at some stage soon.

Feel free to call me in the office at anytime.

Regards Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Kieron

Excellent, helpful and friendly guides, especially for a Norway rookie like me.

Halibut festival and the evening were great, if I return to Havoysund, I would like to go when the festival are on.

Kev dancing with the Halibut!!!

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Kieron, thanks for taking the time to fill out your feedback form. It was great to have met you and also to share with you the day your first child was born.....I still dont know how you got away with that. Any way, congratulations on your first ever Halibut and to catch it so quickly must of been a good buzz.

Would be nice to keep in contact and good luck with the new family.

All the best

Paul

PS the video of Kev dancing with that Halibut still makes me chuckle

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Stuart

Thanks Paul for putting me on Halibut time after time and i think the other guys thought i had paid you lots. (i managed 14 Halibut in the week and the others only managed a couple each...)

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Stuart, it was a great pleasure to have you on this trip. i host many trips with guys and try to explain the fine art of Halibut fishing and some listen and some don't.

I know you have fished all over the World and always done very well for big fish and from the questions you were asking me i knew from the start that you would do well. Like i say to every the more effort you put in the more fish you get

Look forward to guiding you again soon

Regards

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Gareth

For me this was by far the best holiday i ever had with excellent fishing from day 1 personally i landed no less than 7 halibut ranging from small pan size to a PB of 154cm photos already sent to Paul .
The guides were brilliant with expert knowledge and the boats are of top quality.
The accommodation is not 5 star but very comfortable and well mantained and the bonus is the breakfast is included.
Overall an excellent week and i would not change anything.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Gareth, thanks for your feedback form. They are so helpful to future anglers.

Well done on your Halibut thats a huge fish. Would be to guide you out there again and thanks for driving the boat for a couple of days.

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Kevan

Second time at Havoysund, fishing was't as good as previous, but thats fishing and you guys can't influence that.
Paul is a great ambassador for Sportquest and a great guide to boat.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Kevan, thanks for your feedback.

It was a little harder this year I agree but I think you still enjoyed yourself...... especially on the Halibut festival, Kieron kindly sent me the video of you dancing which still makes me giggle.

All the best my friend and see you in Costa Rica soon

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Michael

Fishing not as productive as previous trips, but then, it is not always about the size of the catch! Having said that, I caught my first Wolfie in about 7 trips!

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Michael, thanks once again for your feedback.

I agree the fishing was a little harder this year but at least we got you your wolfie because I know how much you wanted one. I am already looking forward to seeing you next year and by the way, dont forget the sausages

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Ian

Flight went smoothly, although a early one would have been better (Manchester to Oslo).

In general angling exceeded expectation although excellent weather helped. 3 into 2 - bedroom size does not work - causing problems and discomfort.

Recent change in fuel costs deceptive.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Hi Ian, thanks for your feedback. The only problem with Manchester flights is that there is an early one or a late one. The early one gets you in to Oslo 5 hours before you can check in to your hotel or the late one. Maybe next time we can look at the early one if you would prefer.

We did have excellent weather which makes everything so much easier. It wasnt ideal having 3 in the bedroom but on a hosted trip we always have to have 9 people

The change in the way we take fuel payment was a very thought through thing. It is very difficult when you have a large group like this one who do not know each other and are all sharing the boats. The way we now run the fuel bill seems to work very well, where Sportquest pays for the fuel as and when the boats need it then the final bill is split between the entire group and then they are charged on their debit cards or credit cards that way anglers do not need to carry excess amount of english cash with them and plus the guide does not need to carry a fair few pounds home with him. I am sorry if you felt it was different.

Hopefully it will not put you off from travelling with us again and look forward to seeing you soon

All the best

Paul

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

David

Everything about this holiday was good.

Response from Sportquest Holidays

Thank you for your feedback David

Tight Lines

Matt

Fishing
Guides
Accommodation
Meals
Staff & Service
Flights
Would use Sportquest again
Would recommend Sportquest

Alternative destinations

Torsvåg Sea Fishing Norway

Welcome to Torsvåg, this stunning location in Norway, offers sea anglers the best of both worlds. First, its location is minutes away from the fish-filled open ocean, where you will find some excellent banks that rise from the sea bed offering the perfect grounds to target Halibut. Second, this part of Norway is known worldwide for being the 'Halibut Capital'

Loppa Bergsfjord Norway

Loppa is a municipality in Troms og Finnmark county, in northern Norway. The fishing camp, situated in the sheltered town of Bergsfjord, opposite the island of Silda, is renowned amongst the sea angling community for its array of fantastic fishing opportunities, for Skrei Cod in the spring and Halibut in the summer.

Aa-gård Lavangen Norway

Aa-gård fishing camp is situated in Lavangen, in Troms og Finnmark county, in northern Norway. Thanks to the protection from the surrounding mountains and topography, the destination is almost one hundred percent' weatherproof' - whatever the weather, it's possible to fish nearly every day of the year.

Seiland House Rognsund Norway

Rognsund, located in Rognsundet in the southwestern part of Seiland, is Norway's eighth most significant island and the second-largest in Finnmark, behind only Sørøya. A beautiful island destination, the sheltered waters are home to abundant numbers of Cod, Halibut, Wolffish, Ling, Redfish, and some of the very best fishing spots get found within a stone's throw of the camp.

Mikkelvik Brygge Norway

Mikkelvik Brygge is protected by the large islands of Rebbenesøya and its smaller neighbour Hersoya. As a result, the coastal waters close to the camp are generally calm, whatever the weather and very few fishing days get lost throughout the season. It's famed for its Skrei Cod fishing, as well as its fantastic Halibut and Plaice fishing.

Latest Reports

Havoysund, Fishing Report 11th August 2022

We just got through an absolutely fantastic week here in Havöysund which offered everything you could want when it comes to fishing in northern Norway, changing weather conditions with everything from underpants fishing to whipping...

Havoysund, Fishing Report 4th August 2022

The past week has offered fabulous conditions and fishing experiences that the guests at the camp will not forget. With the warm air passing back and forth over the area, it has brought really thick...

Havoysund, Fishing Report 29th July 2022

Summer time up here can be magical in its own dimension and this week we have spent time at sea under the fantastic midnight sun on a mirror-like sea and got to experience absolutely incredible...
Contact Us